Top 10 Best BSB Moments

British Superbike season is now in full swing, and we were amazed by the response to our recent BSB Superfan quiz. Over 1,800  bikers qualified as Superfans, and we loved reading your stories and memories of the BSB Championship over the years.

To celebrate all things BSB, we’ve put together the Top 10 Best BSB Moments, as chosen by you, the BSB Superfans…

1. Chris Walker vs Neil Hodgson, 2000 BSB

The final showdown between Walker and Hodgson way back in 2000 continues to live on in Superfans’ memories. A war both on and off the tracks, the two riders fought for the title ‘til the bitter end, with Walker gliding past Hodgson on the final lap at Cadwell Park – the crowd went wild!

2. Tommy Hill vs John Hopkins, 2011 BSB

During a thrilling final face-off at Brands Hatch, Hill overtook Hopkins on the last corner, beating him by an astonishing 0.006 seconds, and going on to win the Championship!

3. Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne’s win, 2017 BSB

Leon Haslam led by two points heading into the season finale, so Byrne had to pull out all the stops to be in with a chance of victory. Haslam sadly crashed out, while Byrne’s position eight gave him enough points to claim his sixth BSB title.

4. Leon Haslam vs Karl Harris, 2006 BSB

Harris came close to his first series win during round 10 at Croft in the wet, however he was passed by Haslam on the final half-lap, making up a 10-second deficit. Neither rider went on to win the Championship – that was done by Ryuichi Kiyonari, who finished just eight points above Haslam.


5. Bradley Ray’s double win, 2018 BSB

Aged just 20 at the time, Ray claimed a double win at the season opener at Donington Park, despite the wet conditions. Not bad for a newbie!

6. Josh Brookes’ win, 2015 BSB

Renowned for jumping over the Mountain at Cadwell Park with both wheels off the ground, Brookes didn’t disappoint fans during round eight in 2015. Brookes not only won both races at Cadwell, but went on to win the entire Championship, finishing with an impressive 703 points!

7. Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne’s double win, 2003 Superbike World Championship

Fresh from his very first BSB Championship win in 2002, Byrne went on to compete as a wildcard in the World Championship at Brands Hatch the following year, where he really showed the fans what he was made of! Byrne took the double victory, beating riders including Neil Hodgson and James Toseland.

8. Peter Hickman’s best results of the year, 2018 BSB

Against all odds, Hickman managed to achieve a double podium at Thruxton, mere hours after being rushed to hospital with a kidney infection. Astonished fans looked on as Hickman took second and third place in the weekend’s races, earning him great respect from the biker community, along with his best results of the year.

9. Troy Bayliss vs Chris Walker vs John Reynolds, 1999

All the way back in 1999, Superfans enjoyed an exciting season-long title race between Bayliss, Walker and Reynolds. In the final round, a collision between Walker and Reynolds cost both riders the Championship, giving Bayliss a comfortable 28-point lead on Walker’s 366 points and Reynolds’ 357 points.

10. Alex Lowes vs Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne, 2013 BSB

Battling for first place during the final round at Brands Hatch, Lowes vs Byrne was one for the ages. Amongst the crowd’s cheers and the springtime sun, Lowes was victorious over Byrne, who was a three-time champion at the time. Lowes went on to be crowned the youngest ever BSB champion!

Bike insurance to suit your needs